Day 14 – Out and About by the River(s)


It was a different picture along the ‘chocolate path’ by the river Avon today, from a week or so ago. A beautifully day, mud glistening in the sunshine. It always surprises me that there aren’t more birds along the banks of the river at low tide – all that mud, you would think it would be home to lots of delicious beasties for waders to eat. But it seems not. I saw a couple of mallards, and a few lesser black backed gulls and that was it. That is always it.


I also found myself cycling along the Frome later – a much cleaner river than it used to be, an otter has been spotted in it near Eastville Park, and near the M32. I would be beside myself with excitement if I saw an otter in town! There were just a few small fish when I looked in, but they’re the start of something bigger.

Leave a Reply

